Cleo's Dating Blog

Cuddling

Posted on: April 23, 2010

There is something about cloudy/cold/rainy/sh*tty weather that makes me want to cuddle- anyone agree? Yet as a single (but incredibly sexy) woman, the right cuddling partner is hard to find. And I do NOT want just any guy spooning (and potentially forking) me!

So this weather heightens my realization that the other side of my bed contains no more than pillows and a b*tchy cat. Yes readers, even the empress of Egypt gets lonely.

My inspiration for writing this post today comes from a fellow business associate who is also an aspiring musician. And since I support the little people, have a listen to his song. When I first heard it, not only was I impressed (they aren’t done editing it or whatever musicians do to songs), but I was also reminded that everyone has those “off” days where they long for connection and companionship.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iyVN4hU2nCg

So why do I feel this way? Honestly, I could just be bored at work, but in case that’s not the reason…… Well, first of all, I know I love being connected with people. Why else are facebook, texting, and blogging such an important part of my life? Yet, that brings me to the second question, is there something wrong with being alone? I am the type of person that likes to keep moving around, doing something, and feeling “productive” (but what actually defines something as productive?). Recently I found myself literally doing nothing. No TV, no music, no reading, no alcohol… NOTHING. I was cross-legged on my bed, in shorts and a t-shirt, doing nothing… and I was so uncomfortable! I realized then that I didn’t know how to spend time with myself. I didn’t know what to think, if I should talk to myself, sing a hymn, or give up and call someone.

I have a feeling most people do not have this problem… but if I’m wrong then hallelujah, I’m normal! Regardless, this awkward experience opened my eyes to the importance of making time to recognizing yourself, your thoughts, your feelings, your accomplishments, your fears and everything that is overlooked throughout the hustle and bustle of daily life. Taking a few minutes to turn off the Bad Girls Club, reruns of The Real Housewives of Orange County (New York is my fav anyway!), and Facebook chat to spend some quality time with yours truly has really made a huge difference in my daily life. (Say NO to Vicki!)

It sounds cheesy, but this is what I do: I slow down my hyperactive mind to listen to my heart beat, feel my breath go in and out, and recognize that this moment is happening right now. Everything in the past has led up to this moment and everything in the future is preceded by this moment… And then I grab the greygoose and its party time! (naw just playing!.. maybe).

Basically, we all could use a little more positive attention from ourselves. Often I place waaayyy too much importance on having men in my life that make me feel beautiful, sexy, wanted, or valued, but in the big scheme of things, who cares? (Men are dbags anyway! :p). Spending time with myself has caused my confidence, tranquility, and happiness to increase exponentially. I challenge you all to try blocking out five minutes a day for yourself and seeing what it can do for you!

Namaste,

Cleo

2 Responses to "Cuddling"

Just want to say what a great blog you got here!
I’ve been around for quite a lot of time, but finally decided to show my appreciation of your work!

Thumbs up, and keep it going!

Cheers
Christian,Earn Free Vouchers / Cash

Leave a Reply

