Cleo's Dating Blog

My Love-Hate Relationship With Today’s Hit Music

Posted on: January 5, 2011

When it comes to music, I have never been talented. I can’t sing, hear octaves, play any instrument, or understand if someone is in the right pitch or not. I can’t believe I even fooled myself into buying a guitar (which is getting dusty in the back of my closet as I write this).

Despite my lack of musical ability, I have always been a lyrics girl (probably because I love words). Thus, whenever I hear a song, I always listen to the lyrics and message behind it. Obviously, whoever decides which songs go on the radio does not have the same love of words as me! Sometimes I find the meaning of a hit song so immature or stupid that I can’t believe I blast it in my car as I drive down Wilshire Boulevard, hehe.

For example, here is a song that I can’t stand and its corresponding lyrics:

Bruno Mars- Just the Way You Are

Oh her eyes, her eyes
Make the stars look like they’re not shining
Her hair, her hair
Falls perfectly without her trying

She’s so beautiful
And I tell her every day

Yeah I know, I know
When I compliment her
She wont believe me
And its so, its so
Sad to think she don’t see what I see

But every time she asks me do I look okay
I say

When I see your face
There’s not a thing that I would change
Cause you’re amazing
Just the way you are
And when you smile,
The whole world stops and stares for awhile
Cause girl you’re amazing
Just the way you are

Her nails, her nails
I could kiss them all day if she’d let me
Her laugh, her laugh
She hates but I think its so sexy

She’s so beautiful
And I tell her every day

Oh you know, you know, you know
Id never ask you to change
If perfect is what you’re searching for
Then just stay the same…

I know a lot of girls like this song, but I just don’t buy it. First of all, he is only in love with the following things: her nails, her hair, her laugh, her face, her eyes. More than half of those are things you can pay for (especially in LA!). Although I can appreciate the occasional compliment on my eyes or smile, my favorite are always those about my personality- i.e. sense of humor, thoughtfulness, etc. Plus, appearances don’t last forever anyway. I really would like to know how he pictures the personality of a “perfect girl.” Is she independent and makes more money than him? Doubt it. Is she moody? Probably not. Does she ever refuse sex in the morning? No way. Before I can be convinced or swept off my feet by a song like this, I need more depth and content.

The next song I like because it is honest, but I dislike because if any guy actually said these things to me, I would slap him.

Enrique Iglesias- Tonight (I’m F*cking You)

I know you want me
I made it obvious that I want you too
So put it on me
Let’s remove the space between me and you
Now rock your body
Damn I like the way that you move
So give it to me
Cause I already know what you wanna do

Here’s the situation
Been to every nation
Nobody’s ever made me feel the way that you do
You know my motivation
Given my reputation
Please excuse *me* I don’t mean to be rude

But tonight I’m fucking you
Oh you know
That tonight I’m fucking you
Oh you know
That tonight I’m fucking you

You’re so damn pretty
if I had a type than baby it’d be you
I know your ready
if I never lied, than baby you’d be the truth

Here’s the situation
Been to every nation
Nobody’s ever made me feel the way that you do
You know my motivation
Given my reputation
Please excuse I don’t mean to be rude…

 What a brash song! I’m sorry I’m not flattered, but what man doesn’t want to just skip the foreplay and the courtship and get down to the dirty? Extreme lust and horniness is not a very unique attribute. However, I can appreciate the candor… and Enrique is just sexy anyway. 

 Where is the depth in songs today? Eminem may be the only one that has it right. I encourage you to expect more from what you listen to and be selective in what you accept as truth. Love you!

Sweet Dreams,

Cleo

 

Leave a Reply

