Cleo's Dating Blog

I Wish I Was a Gay Man

Posted on: February 5, 2011

Why not a lesbian? Because I know I can not give up having large muscled shoulders pinning my body down into submission. I think that is reason enough.

Despite the social struggles and stereotypes that gay men must battle in their lives, I am starting to realize that there are some definite perks!

1. Less defined relationship roles. In straight relationships there is a man role and a woman role. Generally and briefly summarized, the man role is to court the woman (plan dates, pay for dates, ask personal questions, try to have sex before she is ready, try to avoid a relationship after she is ready). The woman role is to go along for the ride (be approachable, agree to dates she may or may not be interested in, look sexy, attempt to put off sex so a man respects you, not call him when you want to so you don’t seem needy, try to avoid the relationship talk even though you desperately want to, be a lady on the streets but a freak in the sheets). In a gay relationship, submissive-aggressive, woman-man roles are not as necessary (although they definitely still exist). Yes there are tops and there are bottoms, but there are also versatile gays! We could be equals!

As equals, it becomes a pleasant surprise when a man buys you dinner.  After all, Cleo does make her own money, so why do I consistently let men cover the bill? Because that is one of the few ways a straight men shows he cares about you (or cares about sleeping with you). I would gladly treat to a few dinners if that means straight men will be more emotionally expressive! Meet me halfway bug-a-boo. As equals, both members would make thoughtful gestures, do things just to make the other smile, plan dates, feel obliged to attend dates, cover the bill, feel comfortable taking control in the bedroom, be emotional yet realistic, talk about having a relationship, and understand each other better.

2. Greater sex drive. This may be more of a personal problem, but sometimes I feel so a-sexual. I honestly have trouble finding most men sexually attractive upon a first encounter. Why must I need that emotional connection? Maybe if I was gay I wouldn’t need one as much! I am joking a little bit about this because I enjoy being picky and I know many gays that are just as picky or more, but it would be nice not having to put so much time into a man before the lust surfaces. I guess I will just wait until I am a cougar, rawr.

3. Same wavelength. I am realizing more and more how differently straight men and straight women think. Two gay men must understand each other better! I am way too complex and difficult for my own good. I would love to be a gay man and be a little more visually stimulated, simple, and better at climaxing.

This post is a lot more sexual than intended… maybe I should stop listening to R&B while I write! Holla!

Basically, I love all the gays in my life and am happy that I can learn a thing or two from non-traditional relationships. Hopefully the rest of the world will catch up soon!

Love you,

Cleo

1 Response to "I Wish I Was a Gay Man"

I did enjoy this–it is an off beat perspective, but works.

Leave a Reply

