Cleo's Dating Blog

Obsession

Posted on: March 23, 2011

Today in spin class, the instructor said this, “The only way to go is to let go. Let go of all the negative things in your life and obsess about all that is good.”

Now, I don’t particularly even like this guy (he is kind of a d*bag), but this saying has been ringing in my head even hours later. It is so easy, at least for me, to think about how tired I am, how the bathroom in my apartment is ghetto, how i’m chronically single, how my cat is possessed by the devil, how I miss cuddling, and how I feel like all I do is work.  Why is it so easy to dwell on the negative?

The best book I have ever read in my 23.5 years of life is called, Teachings on Love by Thich Nhat Hanh (I highly recommend this short read for you next literary adventure!). At one section he discusses the seeds of good and bad thoughts that we all have in our minds and how the real decisions we must make every day are which seeds we choose to water. “May I be able to touch the seeds of joy and happiness in myself.”

So tonight, as I drink my Pinot Noir, I am thinking (working up to obsessing) over the day I had and all that was great: the spin class, the amazing massage, the laughs at work, the funny texts from friends, the warm blanket on my lap, the smile I see when I look in the mirror, the froyo I am about to eat, the roof over my head, my clean sheets, having a job to go to in the morning, and being able to write this blog right now. The more I think about all that is great in my life, the more I realize that it really is fun being me.

All the best,

Cleo

 

1 Response to "Obsession"

You forgot how sexy you are and your sexy friends :)

Leave a Reply

